Waiting to be Seen

Waiting to be seen
a name is called.
No one responds.
The technician tries again,
then begins spelling the first name.
An older gentleman jumps up
“That’s me!”

As he walked away with the
technician,
he begins to share his story.
“My parents did not know that we would be coming to the United States when they named me.”

I assumed the conversation between the two continued as they rounded the corner to the examination room as he was being seen.

As the conversation with myself began about being seen and the stories behind our names.

4 responses to “Waiting to be Seen”

  1. It is intriguing how parents choose names-Some instantly upon conception and others not until holding the baby. Some carry on an ancestor’s name while others embrace a new family name…that may be passed along one day. Your poem got me thinking too! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t you just love curiosity around other humans’ backstories?! Your seamless transition from your assumption to your internal wonderings felt so familiar to me today. Thanks for putting that experience into words.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Everyone’s name is so important for so many reasons. Some years I have my 7th graders ask their parents why they were named as they were. There are some interesting stories that are shared. Thanks for reminding me how important it is for everyone to be “seen” for the unique person they are and hearing their stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great way to get to know your students and their families!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started