This Might be the Last Time

  • Recently, I’ve been aware of last times and missed opportunities.
  • The last two times,
  • with warm bottle in my hand,
  • he had not wanted any of it.
  • Had I missed my window to stop time and engrave the feeling and scent of him snuggled in my arms drinking his bottle?
  • This time..
  • when I visited he had just woken up from a nap.
  • The bottle in the warmer,
  • I piped up, “I’ll give him his bottle!”
  • We settled into the couch,
  • the weight of his body warm and relaxed.
  • The Dayton Arizona game was on and he started in on the bottle.
  • In one hand he held his blue pacifier,
  • the other hand searched and found some of my hair to play with.
  • The wisps of curls tickling my chin,
  • inhaling the smell of his hair.
  • Noticing his little feet, usually in motion, content to be resting.
  • He was nestling in my lap,
  • watching the game,
  • having a bottle,
  • playing with Nana’s hair,
  • and I was drinking in every moment.

3 responses to “This Might be the Last Time”

  1. What a beautiful slice! I love how writing allows us to capture these moments and fix them in our memories. The details are so strong in this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your use of details really punctuates the notion of capturing those moments. Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, those feet! My goodness, what a precious little baby. I love the details and longing you share. “He was nestling in my lap…and I was drinking in every moment.” I love the opportunities I have to hold my sweet little grandson, so your post makes me very happy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started