Call

My son was 9 months old when my mom passed away. 
I was a month away from my due date when my mom had a stroke after having spent the previous 4 years managing the world of being a heart transplant recipient. 

I was 20 when my mom became ill.  I graduated from college, as she waited in the hospital for her heart transplant. After the transplant, during the bonus time we had her, I became engaged, got married, became pregnant and had my first child. 

The call last night reminds me of what I have missed.
Last night my son called me.  
His soon-to-be one year old had thrown up for the first time
"Do you have any suggestions on what we should do?"  
So many times, I have wanted to be able to call my mom and ask her questions such as these--I have spent over half of my life not being able to.
So as sad as I was in that moment - the baby is sick, I don’t have my mom-- I am grateful that I get to be a part of my son's parenting journey

7 responses to “Call”

  1. Thanks for sharing this moment. It reminds me how life is that tug between what is and what could have been. And with gratitude, we go on, for you, being the best grandmother that you can be. Tahnks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooof- I am sure so many events call up the memories of your mom and her too early death and what you have missed.

    Like

    1. There are so many… it helps to share

      Like

  3. You are never too old to want/need your mom. Although your mom is not physically here for you, I am so happy you get to be here for your son during those times he needs his mom. Sending you my love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much for your kinds words

      Like

  4. There’s a wonderful line from Sherman Alexie’s book The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian where he says that one is always a child in the presence of one’s parent(my paraphrasing is butchering his beautiful words). Your slice reminds me of this idea of never being too old to need a mom. What a poignant slice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started